Christy Clark is ahead after the first round of vote counting in the race for the next leader of the BC Liberals.

Party officials say that both second and third preferences will needed to be counted to determine the next party leader.

Clark has secured 3,209 points out of the necessary 4,251 points. She is trailed by Kevin Falcon with 2,411 points, George Abbott with 2,091 and Mike de Jong with 789.

As party members waited for the results from the next round of counting to be announced, some Falcon supporters could be heard chanting "Kevin, Kevin, Kevin."

More to come...