Fourteen leaders in British Columbia were awarded the Order of British Columbia Thursday for their efforts in areas such as politics, arts, sciences, athletics, community development and business.

Former B.C. Premier Dave Barrett, former Prime Minister Kim Campbell, astronaut Robert Thirsk, homeless advocate Sister Nancy Brown and world-class swimmer Marion Lay are among the recipients.

Other recipients include Bard on the Beach founder Christopher Gaze, First Nations artist Rick Harry, scientist Norman B. Keevil and Future Shop founder Hassan Khosrowshahi.

Former Vancouver Island University Dean Carol Matthews, Dr. Djavad Mowafaghian, former Kimberley, B.C. mayor and community leader Jim Ogilvie and Olympic rower Tricia C.M. Smith also received the award.

Premier Christy Clark said the recipients are examples of remarkable individuals who have contributed to improving the quality of life for British Columbians.

In a ceremony at Government House Lieutenant-Governor Steven Point said he's proud to honour each individual and thank them for exceptional contributions to the province.