Canada's first woman prime minister and British Columbia's first NDP premier are among 14 people who have been named to the Order of B.C., the province's highest civilian honour.

The list includes Kim Campbell, who served as prime minister for four months in 1993 after Brian Mulroney left office, and Dave Barrett, who was NDP premier in B.C. in the mid-1970's.

Also on the list are astronaut Robert Thirsk, Dr. Peter Cooperberg, a world leader in ultrasound, First Nations artist Rick Harry, and Christopher Gaze, who founded Vancouver's Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival.

Business leaders Norman Keevil, Hassan Khosrowshahi and Djavad Mowafaghian are also being honoured, along with athletes Marion Lay and Tricia Smith.

Recipients of the Order were selected by an independent advisory committee from public nominations.

The newest inductees will receive their awards at a ceremony at Government House in Victoria on Sept. 6.