The British Columbia Sports Hall of Fame announced the selection of eight individuals and two teams for Induction as part of its 2009 class.

"There are so many deserving candidates for induction into the BC Sports Hall of Fame, and the choice was not easy," said Doug Clement, chair of the Selection Committee and Honoured Member of the BC Sports Hall of Fame. "Our selection committee did an outstanding job of sifting through over 110 nominations. The class of 2009 truly reflects the best of the best."

Selection for induction recognizes excellence in sport, contribution to sport and the impact on sport in British Columbia, in the categories of athlete, team, builder, and pioneer. A selection committee, comprised of members of the BC Sports Hall of Fame Board of Trustees, the media and the sport community made the final decision.

As part of the 41st induction class, five athletes will be honoured, Lori Bowden (triathlon), Carol Huynh (wrestling), Chris Loseth (horse racing), Paul Parnell (lacrosse), and Larry Walker (baseball). In the builder category, Sohen Gill (lacrosse) and Les McDonald (triathlon) have been selected. Selected in the pioneer category is the Vancouver Dueck Powerglides Wheelchair Basketball Team, and in the media category Archie McDonald. The 2008 Canadian Olympic Men's Rowing Team has been selected in the team category (rowing). More information on these athletes is provided at the end of the release.

Formal induction into the BC Sports Hall of Fame will take place on May 13th, 2009 at the 41st Annual Banquet of Champions at the newly opened Vancouver Convention Centre Expansion. With the induction of these eight individuals and two teams, the total Honoured Members of the BC Sports Hall of Fame will stand at 309 individuals and 54 teams.

Athlete Category

Lori Bowden - Triathlon

Two-time world triathlon champion with five other top-three world championship finishes. One of the most successful female triathletes in history. Resided and trained in Victoria.

Carol Huynh - Wrestling

2008 Olympic gold medalist in 48kg women's freestyle wrestling, Canada's first gold medal of the Beijing Olympics. 2007 Pan American Games gold medallist. Born in Hazelton.

Chris Loseth - Horse Racing

One of Canada's greatest all-time jockeys, with a career record of 3668 victories. Winner of 2001 Avelino Gomez Memorial Award. Born in Fort Nelson.

Paul Parnell - Lacrosse

Leading career goal-scorer in Canadian senior box lacrosse. Played 15 seasons with New Westminster Salmonbellies, 1961-75, winning six Mann Cups in nine appearances. Resided in New Westminster.

Larry Walker - Baseball

Perhaps the greatest Canadian-born ballplayer of all time. Played 17 years in the major leagues, 1989-2005, with Montreal, Colorado, and St. Louis. 1997 National League MVP. 1998 Lou Marsh Award winner. Born in Maple Ridge.

Builder Category

Sohen Gill - Lacrosse

35+ years as a builder of BC lacrosse in a myriad of roles. Coached and managed numerous Lower Mainland junior and senior teams. WLA Commissioner 1987-91, 2002-2006. BCLA president. Born in Vancouver.

Les McDonald - Triathlon

Father of triathlon in BC and largely responsible for triathlon becoming an Olympic sport. Founding president of International Triathlon Union, 1989-present. Founding president of Canadian Triathlon Federation, 1982-1996. Resided in North Vancouver.

Team Category

2008 Canadian Olympic Men's Rowing Eights

2008 Olympic gold medalist in men's eights rowing in Beijing, China. Dominant performance culminating two years undefeated in international competition. 2007 world champions. Five team members were born in BC and all trained out of Victoria.

Pioneer Category

Vancouver Dueck Powerglides Wheelchair Basketball Team

Formed in 1950, the Powerglides established wheelchair basketball in BC and served as the forerunner for later teams such as the Vancouver Cable Cars. Nearly unbeatable through the 1950s. Travelled throughout BC promoting the sport through exhibition games.

Media Category

Archie McDonald

One of BC's most beloved sports columnists, writing for the Vancouver Sun for more than forty years, beginning in 1957. National Newspaper award winner, 1980. Inducted as a builder into BC Horse Racing Hall of Fame. Born in Vancouver.